feelin’ good

Some Facts about Me

I’ve lived 22 years of my life, only to realize that these few important facts are the grassroots of me. They model my behavior and explain all my wants and desires, from birth till today. Here goes:

1. I have a big ego.

2. My ego says I should win over everybody, Einstein and Buddha inclusive.

3. I am only happy when (2) is satisfied.

4. Because of (2), I learned to jump rope, do karate, play basketball, and make web applications. Because of (2), I paid attention to my work, strove for leadership positions, and went to MIT. Because of (2), I moved my mouth to speak each day.

5. I am prejudiced. I always think that my beliefs are superior to others’.

6. My emotions take the reins of my reasons, although I’ve always thought it is the other way around.

These facts have the implications that:

1. I never finish playing a game. I lose interest once I have discovered the game’s patterns or have defeated all my friends.

2. I take on challenges just for the sake of proving that I can achieve them. For example, I wanted to go to LSE, not to earn a degree, but to show that I could go.

3. I never had a free summer. I was always surrounded by millions of projects, which I would drop if I was sure of succeeding or failing. Those which were uncertain I would take on.

4. I don’t have close friends or companions. Why do I need them again?

5. I’m always preoccupied with myself.

Gee! That’s not how I want to be!

5 responses

  1. I’m blown away esp. the 2nd fact. Other than that u are so brave, my sister! So proud u! Yes, we all fall shot, differently in some ways! Are u checking if any comments ASAP? no worries. so am i ;) With PEACE, PRAYER, & Sincere LOVE
    -bnk.

    September 16, 2009 at 8:35 pm

  2. In #2, yourself is also included, right ?

    September 22, 2009 at 10:33 pm

  3. facts change over time.

    write this on paper and hide it where it will be found 20 years later. You will get your own humorous piece of paper :P

    October 6, 2009 at 11:59 pm

  4. I agree with Bank.Light.. we all have to fight our inner egos/Gollum (<–LoTR-character) (btw very open hearted).. God is the only way witch we can be transformed.. And the only source for real love, who can teach us giving love by his own example (for instance dying on the cross for our sin, which I incidently believe in)..

    Buddahs viewpoint on this is for me much more pessimistic.. To aim on not existing any more..

    Yeah I know it's impossible for the most part to change our ego/heart, but God can that's totally possible as he created the whole thing! And we shouldn't give up we should just look for help in the right place! 8)

    Perhaps it's easier for me to believe in this having experienced God and all , but u should take my word on it! God is good, try him out! As there passage goes somewhere in the bible: "taste and see that God is good!"

    /Andreas

    Btw good tutorials in Drupal..

    September 30, 2010 at 5:23 am

  5. With Gods giving love I get at God’s love is in contrast to the scratch-my-back-I’ll-scratch-yours-love out there in the world..

    September 30, 2010 at 5:29 am

Leave a Reply

