feelin’ good

Happy Loy Kratong Day!

So my 6th semester has begun… 7th… 8th… and I’ll graduate. I’m taking 9 classes right now. Don’t get me wrong; it’s not my choice. It is the way the curriculum is. Sounds like a tough semester, eh? Maybe, but my friends still play Battle.net over lunch and go to sing karaoke after class.

Today is the Loy Kratong festival, the festival where you go out at night to float flower-shaped banana leaves on the river. It’s the Thai way of saying ‘Thanks’ to Mother River. It’s a custom to go with a group of friends, family, or a special someone. So if people ask, “Who are you going to Loy Kratong with?”, and you reply, “I’m going with A,” they will interpret it as you’re dating A.

When I was a kid I used to bring a self-made kratong back from school. Since we didn’t have a pond at home, I floated mine in the bathtub. Later I had an idea that I should make mine disposable, and smaller in size, so that I can float it in the toilet, and flush when finished. My mom calls that wacky.

Well, just wanted to say: Happy Loy Kratong Day! :D

Leave a Reply

